COVID-19 UPDATE: We are open! Our team is working and offering consultations via phone, e-mail, and video conferencing.
Results-Driven Criminal Defense & DUI Attorneys Serving Maryland 24/7
Alpert Schreyer Poe Blog

Understanding Maryland Assault Laws

Like other states, Maryland makes various kinds of assault illegal, and being convicted of assault can carry serious penalties. Maryland law divides assault into two main categories, but many other activities fall under miscellaneous categories of “assault” as well.

Assault in the first degree in Maryland involves “intentionally caus[ing] or attempt[ing] to cause serious physical injury to another.” This includes committing assault with a firearm. A “serious physical injury” is one that causes “a substantial risk of death” or causes permanent or long-term serious disfigurement, loss of function of a body part or organ, or body part/organ impairment. The penalty for conviction of this type of assault includes up to 25 years in prison.

Assault in the second degree involves assaults that are not serious enough to be included in the first degree, including an assault that causes mild or moderate injuries. Assaulting a police officer or parole or probation officer is included in this section, which carries a penalty of up to 10 years in prison if a person is convicted.

Reckless endangerment attempted poisoning, and other types of assault are also prohibited by Maryland law. These each carries their own penalties, some of which may be serious.

Facing an assault charge can be confusing and overwhelming, but you don’t have to do it alone. At Alpert Schreyer, our dedicated California, Maryland assault defense lawyers can help you protect your legal rights and fight for the best possible result in your case. Call us today at (301) 321-7277 for a free, confidential case evaluation.