In Maryland, a “repeat offender” is a person who has been convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI) at least twice within five years. Being labeled a “repeat offender” comes with stiffer penalties than a single DUI.
A driver who has been labeled a “repeat offender” is required to give up his or her driver’s license to the state Motor Vehicle Administration, which typically suspends the license for one year, then allows limited driving privileges for one year with an ignition interlock device installed on the vehicle. However, it is possible in some cases to have the DUI license suspension reduced to 45 days, with an additional 320 days of ignition interlock device use added.
Most people who fall under the “repeat offender” category first learn about the penalties when they receive a notice of suspension from the Motor Vehicle Administration. This notice includes information about your right to a hearing to contest the “repeat offender” status and/or to explain why your license should not be suspended.
You have the right to have an experienced defense attorney represent you at the hearing. This hearing is separate from any criminal charges for DUI that you might face in court, but you are allowed to have the same attorney represent you in both the hearing and in court if you choose.
If you’ve been charged with drunk driving in Maryland, don’t hesitate to call the experienced Annapolis to repeat DUI defense attorneys at Alpert Schreyer for help. Our number is (301) 321-7277, and your initial telephone consultation is completely free and confidential.