In Maryland, there can be a number of reasons why you may have your driver’s license suspended or revoked. You may have forgotten to attend a driver improvement program, failed to pay a speeding ticket or failed to appear. You may also have had a driving under the influence (DUI) conviction. Whatever the reason may be if you are caught driving with a suspended license the consequences can be serious. Driving while your license is suspended or revoked is a crime in Maryland. Depending on the reason for your suspension, the penalties can vary.
SUSPENSION FOR UNPAID TICKETS OR FAILURE TO APPEAR IN COURT
Maryland Transportation Article section 16-303 governs license suspensions. Under 16-303(h) individuals are prohibited from driving with a license that has been suspended due to unpaid tickets, court fines, or failure to appear in court. The penalty is a $500 fine and 3 points on your driving record. It is a “must appear” offense, meaning you must appear in court. Individuals who have their license suspended for failure to pay child support are also under 16-303(h) and face the same penalties.
OTHER DRIVING ON A SUSPENDED LICENSE CHARGES
Other driving on suspended license charges include suspensions resulting from the accumulation of points, driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while impaired (DWI) convictions, suspensions for failing to submit to a breath test, and other offenses. These offenses are governed by 16-303(c) and carry harsher penalties. These offenses carry up to 1 year in jail, a $1,000 fine, and 12 points on your driving record.
DRIVING ON A REVOKED LICENSE
Driving on a revoked license is covered by 16-303(d) and carries a maximum penalty of up to 1 year in jail, a $1,000 fine, and 12 points on your driving record. Driving while revoked conviction can have a lasting impact on your ability to drive because it lengthens the amount of time that you will be denied the privilege of driving.
DRIVING ON OUT-OF-STATE SUSPENDED OR REVOKED LICENSE
Driving on an out-of-state suspended or revoked license carries the same penalties as a Maryland suspension or revocation.
CONTACT AN EXPERIENCED MARYLAND ATTORNEY
If you’ve been charged with driving on a suspended or revoked the license, you should consult with an experienced criminal attorney. The attorneys at Alpert Schreyer, LLC, will work hard to get you the best possible outcome. Contact us online or call us at (301) 321-7277 for a free consultation.