Maryland DUI and Your CDL License
If you have a commercial driver’s license (CDL), you already know that maintaining it means following rules that don’t always apply to an ordinary driver’s license. Keeping your CDL means following a higher standard – a standard that applies to drunk driving charges and convictions as well.
During a traffic stop, a police officer may ask you to take a breath test to measure your blood alcohol concentration (BAC). If you refuse, you may be placed out of service for 24 hours and have your CDL disqualified for up to one year. A refusal for a subsequent offense may result in your CDL being disqualified for life.
For drivers with CDL’s, operating a commercial vehicle with a BAC of 0.04 is enough to trigger professional licensing drunk driving penalties. If your BAC is 0.04 or higher, the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) may have your license suspended for 45 days and disqualify you from driving a commercial vehicle for one year, or three years if you were driving a vehicle requiring a HAZMAT-placard at the time. If your BAC is 0.04 or higher and this is a subsequent offense, your CDL may be disqualified for life.
A CDL is a key credential for commercial truck and bus drivers trying to make a living on the road. It’s important to choose a DUI (driving under the influence) and/or DWI (driving while impaired) defense attorney with experience fighting for commercial drivers.
If you’ve been charged with drunk driving, the experienced Maryland commercial driver DUI defense attorneys at Alpert Schreyer can fight for you every step of the way, from talking to the Motor Vehicle Administration about your license suspension to protecting your legal rights in court. Call us today at (866) 444-6363 for a free and confidential telephone consultation.