Maryland takes the crime of DUI/DWI with a child in the car very seriously and has imposed strict penalties for drivers. Under Maryland law, you can face increased penalties if you drive under the influence of alcohol or drugs while transporting a person under the age of 18. In addition to the usual DUI penalties, a conviction for DUI with a child in the car can be punishable by hefty fines and substantial jail time.
Possible Criminal Penalties
In Maryland, a child in the context of a DUI/DWI case is anyone under the age of 18 years. A driver convicted of a DUI with a minor in the car for the first time can face up to 2 years in jail and/or a $2,000 fine. Subsequent offenses carry higher punishments. If you’ve been convicted of a DUI with a minor in the car three or more times, you can face up to 4 years in jail and a $4,000 fine. In the case of a DWI offense with a minor in the car, a first-time offender can face up to 6 months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. For a second DWI with a minor in the car, you can face up to 1 year in jail and/or a $2,000 fine.
Possible Administrative Penalties
In addition to criminal penalties, under Noah’s Law, passed in 2016, you are required to participate in Maryland’s Ignition Interlock Program if you have been convicted of a DUI or a DWI with a child in the car. You can be required to participate in the program for six months for a first offense and up to three years for subsequent offenses.
House Bill 711
The crime of DWI with a minor in the car is on the rise. Between 2012 and 2016, the number of citations for DUI/DWI while a transporting a child in Maryland increased by almost 27%. The penalties for DWI with a child in the car could double if a new bill in the Maryland legislature becomes law. The proposed legislation increases the incarceration penalty to one year for a first offense and two years for a second offense.
Learn How an Experienced DUI/DWI Attorney Can Help You
If you’ve been arrested for DUI or DWI with a child in the car it can be a stressful and uncertain time. Make sure you have the best attorney for the job at your side. The attorneys at Alpert Schreyer, LLC, will provide you with the best possible defense. Contact us online or call 866-444-6363 for a free consultation.