Being arrested and charged with a DUI can be a scary experience. Those not familiar with the process can make costly mistakes that might end in a conviction. Consulting with a skilled attorney can help you build the best possible case. Here’s what you can expect when facing charges of driving under the influence (DUI) in Anne Arundel County.
How a DUI Works in Maryland
Most states have similar laws when it comes to DUI and DWI charges. Maryland, however, has a few minor variations for its DUI definitions. If you are 21 or over, a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of .07% will result in a DWI charge. A BAC of .08% or higher is considered a DUI charge in Anne Arundel County. Different thresholds apply to those who are below 21 years of age.
DUI is a higher crime than driving while intoxicated (DWI). As a result, DUI convictions carry a more stringent set of penalties. For example, a DUI offense can automatically add 12 points to your license. Revoking your license is common at this amount, making it illegal for you to drive.
First time offenders face paying fines, serving prison time, and having to attend classes on driving safety and substance abuse. If your record is otherwise clear, however,, an experienced DUI attorney may be able to reduce the fines and potential prison time. They may even be able to have your case thrown out – depending on the circumstances.
While hiring a DUI lawyer will likely cost more than the fines, having good legal representation can mean the difference between going home or going to jail. Don’t let a DUI cost you months in prison.
DWI charges carry a reduced set of penalties when compared to DUIs. Generally speaking, many who end up facing charges of DWI had been on the lower end of the BAC spectrum. Their only error was performing poorly on the field sobriety test that the arresting officer administered. This is typically based on officer judgement. If you are convicted of a DWI, it will usually result in the addition of 8 points to your license, the potential of license suspension, and a fine of $500. Remember that in Anne Arundel County, as with the rest of Maryland, revocation of a license occurs when there are 12 points against it. If you already have a number of other offenses on your license, a DWI could lead to the loss of your ability to drive.
What Happens After An Arrest?
Following your DUI arrest, a skilled attorney will walk you through the following:
- The Motor Vehicle Hearing – This hearing decides the future of your driving privileges.
- Pre-trial Motions and Hearing – Here your lawyer will resolve case-specific motions that are required before the actual trial.
- Trial – This is when your lawyer will present your case to the judge.
- Sentencing – If you are guilty of the charges you face, this is when you will find out your penalties.
Charged With DUI in Anne Arundel County? Consult a Lawyer
If you are facing charges of DWI or DUI in Maryland, consult an attorney immediately. A skilled lawyer will help you to build an aggressive defense to ensure the best possible outcome.
Contact Alpert Schreyer LLC today for a free case evaluation. Call us at (866) 444-6363 or by using our online contact form.