If you received a driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while impaired (DUI) arrest in Maryland but you reside in another state, the situation can be stressful. Whether you are on vacation in Maryland, or just passing through, the potential for harsh penalties is a reality. A DUI or DWI charge in Maryland can result in fines, jail time, and suspension of your driver’s license. Being an out-of-state driver does not make you immune to Maryland law. Breaking the law in Maryland could also have consequences in your home state.
Penalties for DUI and DWI in Maryland
Convictions for DUI carry harsh penalties. For first-time DUI offenders, the maximum possible penalty is one year in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. In addition, the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administrative (MVA) may slap a DUI offender with a 12-point penalty, which can be enough to cause the revocation of a driver’s license for six months for a first offense. You may also be required to participate in the Ignition Interlock Program.
A conviction for the lesser offense of DWI may result in a fine of up to $500 or 60 days in jail for first-time offenders. The MVA may have a DWI driver with an 8-point penalty which can lead to a license suspension.
Driver’s License Compact
Maryland is a member of the Driver’s License Compact, which is an agreement among states that obligates member states to exchange information about an individual’s driving history. The goal is to report out-of-state traffic convictions to the home state. Violations that an out-of-state department must report to the home state include:
- Vehicular assault, vehicular homicide, manslaughter involving a motor vehicle or other similar conviction or administrative action;
- A felony involving a motor vehicle; and
- A conviction for operating a motor vehicle at or above a certain blood or breath alcohol concentration (BAC), or while under the influence of drugs or alcohol, or a combination of drugs and alcohol, or refusing a required chemical test.
Maryland would, therefore, be required to report your DUI to your home state where you could face additional consequences for your driver’s license. If the charge is dismissed, however, you would not face consequences in your home state.
You need a Maryland DUI Attorney
If you’re from out-of-state and you’ve been arrested for a DUI in Maryland, it’s important that you contact an experienced DUI attorney as soon as possible. The attorneys at Alpert Schreyer, LLC, will work hard to get you the best possible outcome. Contact us online or call us at 866-444-6363 for a free consultation.