Drivers of any age may be arrested and charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI) in Maryland. However, the legal drinking age in Maryland is 21 years, so if you are younger than 21 and charged with a DWI, you may face additional penalties.
For drivers 21 and older, a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 may result in a charge of driving under the influence (DUI), while a BAC of 0.04 to 0.08 may result in a DWI charge. If you’re under 21, however, a BAC as low as 0.02 percent might lead to a DWI charge, which will likely lead to your driver’s license being suspended or revoked by the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) – even if you are not convicted of DWI in court.
When you accept your Maryland driver’s license, there is an implication that you will agree to submit to a BAC test whenever you are requested to do so by an officer who suspects you may be driving under the influence of alcohol. Most of these are tests of a breath sample, in which you blow into a testing machine. If you refuse to take a BAC test when asked, your license may be suspended by the MVA even if you are never arrested or charged with any crime.
The good news is that you have the right to a hearing with the MVA to challenge the license suspension and an experienced attorney of your choice can represent you at the hearing – regardless of your age.
At Alpert Schreyer, our knowledgeable Prince George’s County underage DWI defense attorneys can help you with every step of your case, fighting to protect your rights and secure the best possible results. For a free and confidential consultation, call us today at (866) 444-6363.