Maryland DUI Fines and Penalties
It is illegal to drive while under the influence of alcohol, regardless of which state you reside in.
In Maryland, a motorist who is found to have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of more than 0.08 percent faces significant punishment, up to and including jail time, monetary fines, and expenses related to license suspension and alcohol treatment programs.
DUI costs begin with court fees, and can be an ongoing problem. That is, even after a court hearing has concluded, ensuing costs, such as increased insurance premiums and other fees, can still affect a convicted motorist. For starters, a DUI charge often requires one to carry high risk auto insurance, which leads to more expensive auto insurance costs. Next, because one’s license is suspended after a DUI conviction, alternate transportation will need to be arranged as well, which could result in further costs depending upon on the given circumstances. Ultimately, a lack of dependable transportation could lead to job loss as well, which in turn would eliminate an income stream and result in increased financial difficulties. However, these costs represent a fraction of the monetary burden that accompany DUI fines.
For a first instance of driving under the influence, convicted individuals can expect to pay a monetary fine of up to $1,000 if they were traveling without a minor, and up to $2,000 if a minor was present in the vehicle at the time of the infraction. It should also be noted that a DWI (driving while impaired) conviction, defined by the state as having a blood alcohol concentration of at least 0.07% but less than 0.08%, can result in up to a $500 fine if traveling without a minor, and up to $1,000 if traveling with a minor.
A second drunk driving conviction will not only increase one’s possible jail time, but also the involved fines. That is, an individual convicted of a second DUI offense in the state of Maryland will be responsible for a fine of up to $2,000 (up to $500 for DWI) in traveling without a minor. The fine increases to $3,000 if the individual is found to be transporting a minor at the time of the DUI incident (up to $2,000 is the incident is labeled as a DWI). For all subsequent DUI convictions thereafter, fines can be as high as $3,000 if traveling without a minor, and up to $4,000 if the incident took place while transporting a minor.
Legal fines and other fees also increase with subsequent convictions, not to mention jail time and other penalties. Furthermore, the costs of a DUI in the state are steadily increasing, not only in pure monetary fines, but also in how it will affect your life after conviction.
If you do find yourself in the unfortunate circumstance of being charged with a DUI, your best course of action is to retain the services of an experienced Maryland DUI defense attorney as soon as possible. Andrew Alpert has had great success reducing or eliminating charges altogether for his clients in countless DWI/DUI cases. For more information and a free case evaluation of your case, don’t hesitate to contact him today using our confidential online case evaluation form, or call (866) 444-6363.