DUI/DWI – Your Maryland Driver’s License
The consequences that come along with a Maryland DUI conviction are numerous, but one of the more immediately consequences is the potential loss of one’s driving privileges. Without a license you can no longer drive yourself to and from work, transport dependents, or even run errands whenever you need to.
A DUI conviction will force you to make major changes in your everyday life – changes that will surely have far-reaching effects ranging from employment to income issues.
According to Maryland Code, Transportation Article § 16-205 states that “the Administration may revoke the license of any person who…”
- Is convicted of driving or attempting to drive a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, while under the influence of alcohol per se, or while impaired by a controlled dangerous substance; or
- Has been convicted of homicide by a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, impaired by alcohol, or impaired by any drug, any combination of drugs, a combination of one or more drugs and alcohol, or a controlled dangerous substance; and
- is convicted of driving or attempting to drive a motor vehicle while impaired by alcohol or while so far impaired by any drug, any combination of drugs, or a combination of one or more drugs and alcohol that the person cannot drive a vehicle safely.
In the state of Maryland, the length of the suspension of one’s license depends on a wide assortment of factors, but is ultimately dependant on whether or not you agreed to provide a breath sample and have any prior convictions of DUI. Administrative penalties for those who agree to submit to breath testing can include:
- Suspension and/or revocation of license/privilege to drive for a minimum of 180 days for a first offense.
- A second or subsequent offense will increase the minimum suspension time, and could result in a license suspension and/or revocation of at least 180 days for a BAC of .08 – .14 or 270 days if your BAC was .15 or above.
Individuals who refuse to submit to chemical testing face sentence enhancements including 270 days to 2 years of license suspension and mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device for 1 to 3 years.
If you are a CDL driver convicted of a DUI in Maryland you could lose your CDL license even if you are not driving a commercial vehicle at the time of your arrest.
Also of note is that motorists who are convicted of drunk driving, yet are not of legal drinking age, may have difficulty reclaiming their full, unrestricted licenses in the future.
Regardless of the circumstances, a motorist convicted of DUI is bound to lose their license once found guilty of driving under the influence of alcohol. Therefore, the best course of action to take when facing drunk driving charges involves retaining the services of an experienced, Maryland DUI defense attorney as soon as possible. If you have been accused of driving while under the influence, please don’t hesitate to contact the skilled DUI attorneys at Alpert Schreyer, LLC. Call us today at (866) 444-6363 for more information and a free case evaluation of your criminal case.