Maryland Underage DUI
There are few experiences more overwhelming, and confusing, for a Maryland driver than receiving a DUI stop. As an underage driver, however, the experience can be downright scary.
Do not make the mistake of thinking that law enforcement will take it easy on an underage driver. Underage DUI is a serious offense in Maryland, and carries stiff penalties. Maryland has a zero tolerance policy for underage drivers. If you are accused of drunk driving while underage, especially a subsequent underage DUI offense, you will be prosecuted very aggressively.
Facing arrest for underage DUI likely came as a surprise, but it is important to act fast. Immediately consult with a skilled attorney to learn more about your legal rights. For parents of drivers charged with underage DUI, the first reaction in many instances is to get angry. However, focusing on resolving the matter is what’s most important. Ensuring that the underage individual is taken care of with regard to substance abuse counseling and other preventative treatment measures.
If you have been accused of drunk driving underage in Maryland, in addition to your freedom, your privilege to hold a driver’s license is in jeopardy. The experienced DUI defense lawyers at Alpert Schreyer recognize the severity of an underage DUI charge. We are committed to helping young adults avoid devastating life-altering consequences.
Driver’s License and Underage DUI
The privilege to drive in Maryland is taken very seriously. According to the Maryland Transportation Code Annotated § 16-113 (b), every licensee under 21 years old is prohibited from driving or attempting to drive a motor vehicle while having alcohol in their blood. As such, any underage driver found guilty of driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .02 percent or greater may have their driver’s license suspended for six months. They may also need to complete an approved alcohol treatment program. Instead of suspending the underage driver’s license, the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) may require that the driver participate in the Ignition Interlock System Program for a maximum of three years.
For a second underage DUI offense, the driver faces a driver’s license suspension of one year – or until he or she turns 21, whichever is longer. If the driver’s BAC is .08 percent or higher, they may face the same criminal penalties as an adult. Upon conviction, an underage driver would be subject to jail time, fines, and any other imposed penalties. If a fatal accident is caused by the underage driver’s impairment, they would be charged with felony manslaughter in Maryland.
Effective Legal Representation to Protect Your Future
Being arrested for an underage DUI in Maryland can have severe consequences. Because the alcohol limit is so much lower for an underage driver, it is very easy to violate the limit. But this does not mean that the driver was impaired, or that there isn’t a reasonable explanation. As dedicated Maryland defense attorneys, it’is our job to make sure an underage driver is not penalized unlawfully. At Alpert Schreyer, our underage DUI defense attorneys can ensure that you are treated fairly. With our skills and experience at your side, you can rest assured that we will do everything possible to prevent you from suffering unjust consequences. Call us today for a free case evaluation today at (866) 444-6363.