Drug Sales Defense Attorneys

Maryland Drug Sales

Drug crimes are aggressively prosecuted in Maryland, especially those that involve the sale and distribution of controlled dangerous substances such as cocaine, heroin, and meth. Prosecutors will not hesitate to ask for the harshest punishments available under the law, so retaining the services of an experienced Maryland drug crime defense attorney is an important step in fighting the charges against you. At Alpert Schreyer, our lawyers have a thorough understanding of state drug laws and will do everything in our power to help protect your rights.

MD Criminal Law Code

Under Maryland Criminal Law Code Annotated § 5-602, the sale and distribution and/or dispensing of controlled dangerous substances is in violation of the law and subject to criminal prosecution. Possession of a controlled dangerous substance with intent to distribute/sell is also against the law.

Drug Sales Penalties

If you have been convicted of selling a controlled dangerous substance in Maryland, you will be guilty of a felony and subject to a maximum five years imprisonment and/or a maximum fine of $15,000. Without the support of a drug crime defense lawyer, it is more likely that you will be given the maximum sentence allowable.

Repeat Offenders

If you are convicted for a repeat violation of Maryland’s drug sales law, you will be subject to a mandatory minimum prison sentence of two years, without the possibility of parole during that period.

Drug Type Determines Penalties

Schedule I or II Narcotic Drugs
When a person commits the crime of selling controlled dangerous substances in Maryland, the type of drug sold and prior convictions do affect the penalties that can be imposed. If you are convicted of selling a narcotic drug listed in Schedule I or Schedule II, you will be guilty of a felony and subject to a maximum prison sentence of 20 years and/or a maximum fine of $25,000. A second time offender would be subject to a mandatory minimum prison sentence of 10 years and an increased maximum fine of $100,000. A third time offender would receive a mandatory minimum prison sentence of 25 years as well as a maximum fine of $100,000. The mandatory minimum prison sentence increases to 40 years with a fourth offense.

Schedule I or II Hallucinogenic Substances
If a person is found guilty of selling certain hallucinogenic substances found in Schedule I or Schedule II, he or she is guilty of a felony and will be subject to a maximum prison sentence of 20 years and/or a maximum fine of $20,000. With a second offense, the penalties include a mandatory minimum prison sentence of 10 years and a maximum $100,000 fine. The third and fourth offenses are subject to the same penalties as those for narcotic drugs.

How We Can Help

Being convicted of selling controlled dangerous substances in Maryland carries stiff penalties that can severely jeopardize a person’s personal, professional and financial future. If you have been arrested for drug sales, you still have legal rights. At Alpert Schreyer, our Waldorf drug sales defense attorneys are committed to protecting those rights and aggressively fighting to preserve your right to a decent future life. Call us today to learn more about your legal options at (866) 444-6363.