Multiple DUI Offenses

DUI Repeat Offenders

A DUI offense is a serious matter. In the state of Maryland, Transportation Article § 21-902 states that “a person may not drive or attempt to drive any vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, And section 16-205 states that “the Administration may revoke the license of any person who…”

  • is convicted of driving or attempting to drive a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol
  • has been convicted of homicide by a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, impaired by alcohol, or impaired by any drug
  • is convicted of driving or attempting to drive a motor vehicle while impaired by alcohol or while so far impaired…that the person cannot drive a vehicle safely

The penalties associated with drunk driving become harsher for DUI repeat offenders: fines are significantly increased, jail time becomes longer, and the overall effect the DUI has on one’s daily life becomes even more apparent. Specifically…

…first time offenders convicted of DUI in the state of Maryland can expect:

  • License suspension for a minimum period of 180 or 90 days if you agreed to submit to chemical testing. If you did not submit to chemical testing, you face a 270 day license suspension;
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device in all vehicles that the convicted motorist may legally drive for 6 months;
  • Monetary fines of up to $2,000, dependant on the circumstances of the violation
  • Jail time of up to one year, or up to two years if the individual was found to be transporting a minor at the time of the incident.

…second time offenders who are convicted of DUI in the state of Maryland can expect:

  • License suspension for a minimum of 180 or 270 days if you agreed to submit to chemical testing. If you refused chemical testing, you face a 2 year license suspension;
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device in all vehicles that the convicted motorist may legally drive for 1 year;
  • Monetary fines of up to $3,000, dependant on the circumstances of the violation
  • Jail time of up to two years, or of up to three years if the individual was found to be transporting a minor at the time of the incident


…those individuals with three or more convictions for Maryland DUI can expect:

  • License suspension for a minimum period of either 180 or 270 days if you agreed to submit to chemical testing. If you did not submit to chemical testing, you face a 2 year license suspension;
  • Mandatory jail time
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device in all vehicles that they convicted motorist may legally drive for 3 years
  • Monetary fines of up to $4,000, dependent on the circumstances of the violation
  • Jail time of up to three years, or of up to four years if the individual was found to be transporting a minor at the time of the incident.

States are doing everything in their power to ensure that people who operate motorized vehicles while under the influence of alcohol receive maximum punishments. Increasing fines and lengthier jail sentences are just a few examples of how seriously courts take DUI offenses in the state of Maryland. If you stand accused, it is in your best interest to contact an experienced Maryland DUI defense attorney as soon as possible. A qualified defense attorney will carefully examine the circumstances of your case and build a strong defense on your behalf. For more information on multiple DUI offenses and how a qualified defense attorney can help repeat offenders, contact Alpert Schreyer, LLC today at (866) 444-6363 for a free consultation.