Maryland DUI Sentencing

There can be many factors that come into play when it comes to Maryland DUI sentencing, particularly your driving history and whether or not you’ve previously been convicted of driving under the influence.

In the state of Maryland, sentencing consists not only of monetary fines, but also jail time, license restrictions including suspension, and other mandatory steps that need to be taken in order to regain full driving privileges. According to Maryland Transportation Code Section 21-902, “a person may not drive or attempt to drive any vehicle while he is so far impaired by any drug, any combination of drugs, or a combination of one or more drugs and alcohol that he cannot drive a vehicle safely.”

If an individual is found in violation of Maryland DUI laws, then that individual is trialed and sentenced according to how many such violations he or she has been convicted of in the past.

For first time offenders in the state, motorists convicted of DUI can expect:

  • License suspension for a minimum of 180 days
  • Monetary fines of up to $2,000, dependant on the circumstances of the violation
  • Jail time of up to one year, or of up to two years if the individual was found to be transporting a minor at the time of the incident
  • Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device for 6 months

For a second drunk driving conviction, motorists can expect:

  • License suspension for a minimum of 180 days
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device in all vehicles that the convicted motorist may legally drive for 1 year
  • Monetary fines of up to $3,000, dependant on the circumstances of the violation
  • Jail time of up to two years, or of up to three years if the individual was found to be transporting a minor at the time of the incident

For a third or subsequent DUI conviction, motorists can expect: 

  • License suspension for a minimum of 180 days
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device in all vehicles that the convicted motorist may legally drive for 3 years
  • Monetary fines of up to $4,000, dependant on the circumstances of the violation
  • Jail time of up to three years, or of up to four years if the individual was found to be transporting a minor at the time of the incident

When it comes time get your license back, there may even be other criteria that you must meet. As mentioned, you may need to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle for a determined amount of time. You may have to take and pass driving and alcohol related classes and programs as well. Ultimately, it is important to remember that multiple factors come into play during Maryland DUI sentencing, and the consequences can vary dependant on your given situation.

The best course of action to take when facing drunk driving charges involves retaining the services of an experienced, Bowie defense attorney as soon as possible. For more information and a free consultation of your case, don’t hesitate to contact the skilled at Alpert Schreyer, LLC today using our confidential online case evaluation form, or call (866) 444-6363.