Maryland DUI Statutes

Maryland DUI Statutes

DUI statutes in the state of Maryland are similar to most other states across the country. In fact, all fifty states in the US have a blood alcohol concentration of .08 or above.

Like most states, Maryland has a zero tolerance policy when it comes to underage drinkers getting behind the wheel. What a zero tolerance policy means is that in the state of Maryland anyone under the age of 21 with a blood alcohol concentration level of .02 or above is considered to be under the influence of alcohol and will be charged with a DUI.

Maryland also has an implied consent law. What this essentially means is that drivers alleged to be driving under the influence of alcohol must agree to take a breath test. If one does not cooperate and refuses to subject themselves to the breath tests, additional penalties can be leveled against you, including the suspension of your driver’s license for at least 279 days.

Although the state of Maryland does impose stricter penalties by law for repeat offenders, Maryland criminal courts are not required to impose enhanced penalties upon those convicted of DUI with excessive breath or blood alcohol levels like other states do. No stricter penalties are required for those operating a motor vehicle with an alcohol level of .15 or greater compared to a blood alcohol level of .08. However many Judges will take a higher BAC into consideration during sentencing and may impose stricter punishments upon those convicted of operating a motor vehicle with a high levels of alcohol in their system.

Unlike in the Maryland criminal courts, a higher BAC does come into play during the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) hearing. If you lose at your MVA hearing and have a blood alcohol level of .08 to .14, the administrative law judge will require the installation of an ignition interlock device for 180 days for a first offense.  If your BAC was .15 or above you will be required to install an ignition interlock device for 180 days or 270 days for second or subsequent offense. Maryland does not confiscate personal vehicles for DUI convictions.

Expensive fines, suspension of a driver’s license, mandatory penalties as well as required community service, civil fines and higher insurance rates are only some of the possible outcomes of being arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol in Maryland. All states have different penalties and statutes regarding DUI laws, but all states follow the .08 blood alcohol concentration level to measure for impairment. States also have varying punishments and fines for those convicted of multiple DUI offenses. A DUI in the state could cost you a lot of money and affect your life on many levels, so remember what is on the line when getting behind the wheel of a motorized vehicle.

Maryland DUI Defense Lawyers

If you have been charged with a DUI, contact the top-rated DUI/DWI defense lawyers of Alpert Schreyer, LLC. Our experienced DUI lawyers have a proven track record of successfully defending those arrested for drunk and/or drugged driving and stand ready to help you fight the charges against you. Call (866) 444-6363 for a free case evaluation or submit the online contact form for a quick response.