Maryland Underage DUI
There are few experiences more overwhelming and confusing for a Maryland driver than being pulled over for DUI. As an underage driver, however, the experience can be downright scary.
Do not make the mistake of thinking that law enforcement will take it easy on an underage driver who is suspected of being under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Underage DUI is a serious offense in Maryland and carries stiff penalties. Maryland has a zero tolerance policy for underage drivers, and if you have been accused of drunk driving while underage, especially a subsequent underage DUI offense, you will be prosecuted very aggressively.
While being arrested for underage DUI is the last thing you ever thought would happen, it is important to act fast and immediately consult with a skilled attorney to learn more about your legal rights. For parents of drivers charged with underage DUI, the first reaction in many instances is to get angry. However, focusing on resolving the matter is what’s most important in addition to ensuring that the underage individual is taken care of with regard to substance abuse counseling and other preventative treatment measures, if necessary.
If you have been accused of drunk driving underage in Maryland, in addition to your freedom, your privilege to hold a driver’s license is in jeopardy. The experienced DUI defense lawyers in Maryland at Alpert Schreyer recognize the severity of an underage DUI charge and are committed to helping young adults avoid devastating life-altering consequences.
Driver’s License and Underage DUI
The privilege to drive in Maryland is taken very seriously. According to the Maryland Transportation Code Annotated § 16-113 (b), every licensee under 21 years-old is prohibited from driving or attempting to drive a motor vehicle while having alcohol in the blood. As such, any underage driver found guilty of driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .02 percent or greater may have their driver’s license suspended for six months and may have to complete an approved alcohol treatment program. Instead of suspending the underage driver’s license, the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) may require that the driver participate in the Ignition Interlock System Program for a maximum of three years.
For a second underage DUI offense, the driver faces a driver’s license suspension of one year, or until he/she turns 21, whichever is longer. If the driver’s BAC is .08 percent or higher, then he or she may face the same driver’s license suspension and criminal penalties as someone over the age of 21. Upon conviction, an underage driver would be subject to jail time, fines, and any other imposed penalties. If a fatal accident was caused as a result of the underage driver’s impairment, they would be charged with felony manslaughter in Maryland.
Effective Legal Representation to Protect Your Future
Being arrested for an underage DUI in Maryland can have severe consequences. Because the alcohol limit is so much lower for an underage driver, it is very easy to violate the limit, but this does not mean that the driver was impaired in any way or that there isn’t a reasonable explanation for the body’s BAC. As dedicated Bowie defense attorneys, it is our job to make sure an underage driver is not penalized unlawfully. At Alpert Schreyer, our Maryland underage DUI defense attorneys can examine the details of your arrest and ensure that you are treated fairly. With our skills and experience at your side, you can rest assured that we will do everything possible to prevent you from suffering unjust consequences. Call us today for a free consultation today at (866) 444-6363.