Rockville DUI/DWI Lawyers
Unfortunately for those facing a Rockville drunk driving charge, there are many mistakes that lawyers make that can be costly for you.
One of the mistakes that many DUI attorneys make is failing to investigate the arrest location. Visiting the arrest location can be extremely important for DUI lawyers for a number of reasons….
- It is possible that the location made the roadside test difficult to perform
- It makes it easier for the lawyer to determine inconsistencies in the arresting officer’s statements
- There may have been obstacles in the way that caused your driving to appear questionable
When our Rockville, Maryland DUI defense attorneys investigate the arrest scene, they may discover factors such as a slanted road, heavy traffic, or a winding roadway that could have caused difficulties at the arrest scene. By being prepared with this information, lawyers can build a more effective case.
If the drunk driving defense lawyers you are considering do not intend to visit the arrest scene, it might be best to speak with other DUI attorneys to help ensure you receive the best representation possible.
Build a solid defense with the experienced Rockville Maryland DUI defense attorneys at Alpert Schreyer. Call (866) 444-6363.
When you’re arrested on suspicion of drunk driving in Rockville or any other Maryland city, you are innocent until proven guilty – but the arrest or charge itself can turn your life upside-down nonetheless. Your driver’s license may be suspended based on an arrest alone. You may be taken to jail. Your vehicle may be impounded, requiring you to pay a large sum of money to get it back. All these obstacles may occur before you even know exactly what charges you face, let alone before you can begin to build a case in your own defense.
Whether you face charges for driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while impaired (DWI), you have legal rights. These include the right to hire an experienced Rockville DUI/DWI defense attorney to represent you in Court and at your Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) hearing. The experienced attorneys at Alpert Schreyer can vigorously defend your legal rights and fight for the best possible results in your case. We can be reached at (866) 444-6363 for a free case evaluation so you can be fully informed of your rights and take immediate action to protect them.
DUI versus DWI: What’s the Difference?
Although DUI and DWI may both be called “drunk driving,” they are actually two different charges, and they carry different penalties if a person is convicted of one or the other.
DUI Charge Causes
A DUI charge is typically based on evidence that a driver’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was 0.08 percent or higher at the time of arrest. Driving with a BAC of 0.08 percent or higher is illegal in Maryland and every other U.S. state, even if the driver doesn’t feel impaired or show overt signs of impairment.
Evidence of a BAC over the legal limit is typically based on the results of a breath or blood test, which must be performed correctly to give precise results. An experienced attorney can examine the testing process and results and help you catch situations in which an improper test process or physical condition resulted in an abnormally high reading.
DWI Charge Causes
A DWI charge is based on evidence that a driver’s BAC was 0.07 or higher or evidence that the driver’s BAC was lower than 0.07 but the driver behaved as if he or she was impaired. Some people become too impaired by alcohol to drive a car with a low BAC, especially if they are unused to drinking or are drinking in combination with medications that compound the effects of alcohol. Driving in this condition is illegal, even if the driver’s BAC is within legal limits.
A DWI charge may be based on a police officer’s observations of a driver during field sobriety testing, which tests a suspect’s coordination, ability to follow commands, and natural bodily responses to stimulus. Field sobriety tests must be carried out very precisely in order to provide useful information, and an officer’s observations must be carefully and accurately recorded. An alert DWI defense attorney will examine these results carefully and point out where an officer may have misjudged the situation or simply gotten things wrong.
Penalties for Rockville DUI and DWI
The penalties for DUI and DWI also differ from one another.
For a first DUI conviction, a person may face:
- up to one year in jail
- up to $1000 in fines
- six months without a driver’s license
- 12 driver’s license points
- other penalties, including probation, community service, or mandated alcohol treatment
A first DWI carries penalties including:
- up to 60 days in jail
- a maximum of $500 in fines
- 60 days without a driver’s license
- eight driver’s license points
- Other penalties, including probation, community service, or mandated alcohol treatment
Protecting Your Legal Rights
Whether you’re facing your first DUI or DWI charge or have faced such charges before, you have the right to be represented by tenacious Rockville DUI/DWI defense attorneys at every stage of the process. The legal team at Alpert Schreyer, LLC has helped many drivers protect their legal rights, retain their right to drive and have their drunk driving charges significantly reduced or dismissed. For a free and confidential consultation about your DUI or DWI case, contact our office today.