Upper Marlboro DUI/DWI Lawyers

Upper Marlboro Criminal Defense Attorneys – Upper Marlboro MD DUI Lawyers

“Innocent until proven guilty” means that an arrest for DUI or DWI in Maryland isn’t enough to take away your legal rights. Unfortunately, for many Upper Marlboro area drivers, a DUI arrest feels like it does exactly that. Your driver’s license may be suspended, you may be taken to jail, and your vehicle may be impounded – all before you have heard the exact nature of the charges you face or begun to build a defense on your own behalf.

Over 43,000 people live in Upper Marlboro, Maryland and its surrounding suburbs, and local law enforcement officials often “crack down” on drivers by making multiple DUI/DWI arrests each day. An arrest for drunk driving, however, does not mean you have actually broken the law. Protecting your legal rights and fighting for the best possible result in your case are crucial steps to take, and the experienced Upper Marlboro DUI defense attorneys at Alpert Schreyer can help you do just that.

DUI vs. DWI in Upper Marlboro: What’s the Difference?

DUI and DWI are related charges, but they are not exactly the same crime, and they don’t carry exactly the same penalties.

A person may face a driving under the influence (DUI) charge if his or her blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was 0.08 percent or higher at the time of the arrest. Driving with a BAC of 0.08 or higher is illegal in every state, including Maryland, even if the driver doesn’t feel impaired or show signs of impairment when it comes to driving safely.

Because proving a DUI often depends on the blood alcohol concentration reading, an accurate BAC reading that reflects the driver’s actual blood alcohol levels at the time of the arrest is crucial in most drunk driving cases. BAC may be tested with either a breath or blood sample. Both methods are prone to error if they are not carried out using accurately-calibrated equipment and proper scientific procedures.

A driving while impaired (DWI) charge may be brought if the driver’s BAC was 0.07, or if the driver’s BAC was below this limit but the driver was clearly impaired. To test for impairment, police officers generally use a combination of observing the person’s driving and conducting field sobriety tests. Field sobriety tests must be carried out properly to provide any accuracy, and a police officer’s observations must be carefully made and recorded.

Penalties for DUI and DWI

The penalties for DUI and DWI also differ from one another. For a first-time DUI conviction, a person may face the following:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • Up to $1,000 in fines
  • Six months without a driver’s license
  • 12 driver’s license points
  • Other penalties, including probation, community service, or mandated alcohol treatment

A first DWI carries penalties including the below:

  • Up to 60 days in jail
  • Up to $500 in fines
  • Sixty days without a driver’s license
  • 8 driver’s license points
  • Other penalties, including probation, community service, or mandated alcohol treatment

Penalties for DUI or DWI become more severe if a particular conviction is not the person’s first DUI/DWI conviction. Whether or not you are facing your first drunk driving charge, however, having a skilled Upper Marlboro DUI/DWI defense attorney on your side can help ensure that the best course of action is taken for your particular situation.

Fighting to Protect Your Rights

The experienced Upper Marlboro, Maryland drunk driving defense attorneys at Alpert Schreyer have helped many drivers in Prince George’s County protect their legal rights and secure the best possible outcome after a DUI or DWI charge. We dedicate our legal resources and extensive experience to fighting for the best results for each client we represent. For a free case evaluation, contact us today.

 


View Larger Map

Prepare the best defense with an experienced DWI attorney. Call (301) 262-7005 today.

For More Information, visit our Maryland DUI Resource Center

Additional Criminal Defense Information