Are you facing a Waldorf MD DUI charge? If so please contact the Waldorf, MD DUI defense law firm of Alpert Schreyer, LLC for a free case evaluation. Our drunk driving defense attorneys are highly skilled in Maryland intoxicated driving law, and have the experience to defend clients facing the most serious offenses. With the legal advice and representation of one of our skilled defense attorneys, you may be able to avoid a DWI conviction.
During your free case evaluation with one of our drunk driving defense lawyers, we will ask you to provide answers to the following information, as it may help your case:
- The results of your breath test.
- Whether there were any witnesses present during your breath or blood test.
- What you were doing prior to your arrest.
- How much alcohol you consumed prior to your arrest.
- Whether or not the officer provided your Miranda rights before interrogation.
A drunk driving arrest should be taken very seriously, as you are facing severe consequences. Do not hesitate to contact Alpert Schreyer for a free case evaluation.
Drivers charged with a DWI or DUI face serious penalties. Maryland law enforcement officers actively seek out potential DUI offenders. A drunk driving conviction on your record could seriously affect your chances of getting and keeping a job. It could even affect your personal life and relationships. It is in the best interest of those facing DUI charges in Waldorf to discuss their case with an experienced Waldorf DUI defense attorney. If this is your first DUI offense, you may be able to seek alternative sentencing instead of jail time.
DUI and DWI Offenses
Under Maryland Transportation Code 21-902: “A person may not drive or attempt to drive any vehicle while under the influence of alcohol.” Drivers who operate under the influence of alcohol will be brought into the station for an official breath test. If the driver’s blood alcohol concentration is .07 percent or below, the driver may be charged with driving while impaired (DWI). If the BAC is 08% or higher, the driver may be charged with driving under the influence in Waldorf, which is a more serious charge.
Penalties for First-Time DWI and DUI Offenders
First-time DWI offenders could face up to two months in jail, a six-month license suspension and a fine of up to $500. First-time DUI offenders could face up to a year in jail, a six-month license suspension and a fine of up to $1,000. Additional penalties include a substantial increase in insurance premiums and the stigma of being labeled as a convicted DUI offender.
How First-Time DUI Offenders May Reduce Their Penalties
If it becomes clear that there is no way to fight the charges it may become necessary to work out a plea deal or request alternative sentencing. Alternative sentencing is available to first-time offenders whose actions did not injure or harm anyone. The purpose of alternative sentencing is to order the victim to get help instead of sending him or her to jail.
Typically, a first-time DUI offender interested in avoiding jail time may have to accept responsibility for the incident and enroll in an alcohol education program. Attending alcohol treatment programs is a good first step to recovery and it could lighten the penalties against the defendant. Additionally, community service may be a valid sentence instead of incarceration. This option is not always available. But in victimless crimes involving first-time offenders, the court may be willing to negotiate a deal. In some circumstances, it may even be possible to keep the charges off a driver’s record.
Anyone charged with a DUI would be well-advised to discuss all of his or her potential options with the experienced Waldorf DUI defense attorneys at Alpert Schreyer.
The lawyers at Alpert Schreyer have decades of experience in handling complicated alcohol-related arrests. We know when to fight the charges and when to work out a deal to have the charges lessened. To discuss the specifics of your case, please call us today for a free case evaluation. We can help determine what options work best for you.