DUI Punishment in Maryland
No matter where you live, a DUI arrest and/or conviction is a very serious matter; Maryland is certainly no exception. While the actual punishments for a DUI in Maryland can vary on a case by case basis, they are usually significant. Often the punishments for a DUI conviction will depend on several variables including but not limited to, speed, location, the amount of alcohol present in your bloodstream, whether or not it is your first offense, and the presence of aggravating factors or special allegations.
Sometimes, the courts will be more lenient with first-time offenders, however, this isn’t always the case. The punishment for a first time DUI offender in Maryland over the age of 21 who was not transporting a minor at the time of arrest can include::
- 1 year in jail
- $1000 fine
- Suspension of your driver's license
While these are court ordered punishments, you also run the risk of additional “collateral consequences” including but not limited to higher insurance premiums due to being a high-risk driver, loss of any security clearance you may have, travel restrictions, loss of your right to own a handgun and loss of your job. The court might also require you to perform community service or attend a mandatory alcohol education program.
If it’s not your first DUI offense, then be prepared for harsher consequences. For the second DUI offense (if you are 21 years of age or older), the punishments are typically doubled, up to 2 years in jail, $2000 in fines and a suspension of your license. If it’s a third offense, the amount is tripled from what is typically assigned for a first time offender, meaning up to 3 years in jail, $3000 in fines and a suspension of your license. Repeat offenders also run the risk of having their driving privileges revoked altogether. Special circumstances such as transporting a minor at the time of your arrest or having a very high BAC will add additional penalties.
In the state of Maryland, repeat DUI offenders are also usually required to have an IID (ignition interlock device) installed in their car. An IID requires a breath sample for your car to start, as well as periodic sampling while you’re driving. Not only is the device very costly to have installed, but requires monthly calibrations which also accrue additional fees.
Whether it’s your first time or a repeat offense, the best thing you can do when you’re charged with a DUI is to get legal help from an attorney who knows DUI defense law. The attorneys at Alpert Schreyer have successfully represented thousands of individuals charged with DUI/DWI and will help you to build an aggressive defense for your case. Call or go online today for a free legal consultation.