What to Do after a DUI Arrest in Maryland
Seek Guidance from Alpert Schreyer Poe, LLC
A DUI arrest is a very serious matter. Though DUI arrests are quite common, it can severely damage your life. You could lose your driver’s license, your job, and be forced to pay hefty fines and/or serve jail time. Fighting to ensure that your rights are protected is absolutely essential.
Right after you’ve been arrested, you should call someone – a family member or a friend is ideal. When they hear your voice, they can tell whether your speech is slurred and can dispute any claims to the contrary in a court of law. You will also want to put together a timeline of everything you did leading up to the arrest. You need to build a case that refutes the state’s evidence.
Hiring a quality DUI attorney early in the process is also critical for navigating the complicated network of drunk driving laws. Our experienced DUI defense attorneys in Maryland understand how to challenge sobriety tests, and our founding partner Andrew Alpert is one of very few attorneys who is also a Certified NHTSA Field Sobriety Test Instructor. He knows how to challenge the validity of the original traffic stop and the constitutionality of any search and seizure processes and keeps up with all the latest developments in the field, which can help to minimize the damage of your DUI arrest.
Call Alpert Schreyer Poe at (301) 321-7277 to schedule your free consultation regarding your DUI arrest. We have five offices in Bowie, Frederick, Lexington Park, Prince Frederick, and Waldorf.
Five Steps to Take after DUI Arrest
1. Read all paperwork given to you by the police and/or commissioner.
There are several very short timelines when processing a recent DUI arrest. If you fail to read all documents given by police, you will miss the time deadlines and default into a loss of license or some other serious administrative sanction.
2. Request a hearing with the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) within 10 days following the date of your arrest.
If you were issued an Officer’s Certification and Order of Suspension (which is a white sheet of paper) at the time of your arrest, you must request a hearing with the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) in writing within 10 days of the date of the stop in order to contest the suspension of your Maryland driver’s license. It is extremely important to note that the MVA will not automatically schedule a hearing for you so, if you do not request a hearing by submitting the necessary paperwork and fees to the MVA within 10 days following the date of your stop, your Maryland driver’s license will be suspended for a minimum of 45/maximum 120 days starting on day 46 after the stop.
3. Don’t sell yourself short – contact the attorney you deserve.
Why would you risk your freedom, future, and financial well-being by representing yourself or hiring an attorney with little or no experience handling DUI cases?
If you were diagnosed with a medical condition that could ruin your life if not properly treated, wouldn’t you choose the most qualified and experienced doctor you could find to treat your illness and help ensure your future health and well-being? Wouldn’t you want your doctor to have extensive knowledge about your physical condition, a skilled professional staff to help you throughout your treatment, and a proven track record of success healing others with your condition?
Of course you would.
Why should this approach be any different when choosing an attorney? You are facing serious criminal charges and harsh penalties if you are convicted. Maryland DUI law is extremely complex and, if you are found guilty of drunk driving, the consequences can be severe. You owe it to yourself, your loved ones, and your future to retain a law firm whose attorneys have the proper scientific and legal knowledge, extensive experience, and proven success rate to provide you with an aggressive, thorough defense. Alpert Schreyer Poe has all these qualities.
4. See a commissioner within three to seven days of order by the police officer.
Some counties require you to see a commissioner in person within three to seven days of order by the police officer. Read all documents given to you by the police. If you are still in doubt, call the police station/officer and ask if you can have any immediate reporting obligations to a commissioner or any other judicial officer. You do not need a lawyer at the commissioner session and you will not be asked to discuss your case or enter a plea. DO NOT DISCUSS your case with the commissioner or anyone present at the hearing.
5. DO NOT pay any tickets or citations if any of your charges require a Must Appear at Trial.
All payable charges will be scheduled for trial with the Must Appear charges without your asking the Court.
Need guidance after a DUI arrest in Maryland? Call Alpert Schreyer Poe at (301) 321-7277 or contact us online for a free consultation.
This is absolutely the best legal firm for dealing with DWI & DUI matters.- C.M.
Mr. Alpert’s defense of my court case was impressive. His in-depth research and knowledge of my medical condition made him the perfect person to have in my corner.- D.D.
He knows the law, is more than comfortable in the court house fighting for his clients and obviously well respected there.- Former Client
Our legal team boasts over 70 years of combined experience defending the rights of the accused.
Our attorneys are former prosecutors who know how to recognize mistakes made by law enforcement.
We have an established reputations as one of Maryland's top-rated DUI defense firms.
Our attorneys are committed to taking the time to clearly communicate & understand your case.
We have the resources to investigate cases, provide expert witnesses in court & advocate for you.
We promise to fight for you with the intensity, drive & skill necessary to produce results.